It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:09 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Pole Dance Fitness
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:15 am 

Any pole fitness people here? I've been poling regularly for 2 1/2 years. Studio only, never performed in a club. I have a really hard time with the social aspect of pole fitness since its a female dominated industry and I'm not very good at making friends, especially with other women. Due to my unconventional views and lifestyle (childfree, pole dancer, minimalist, rebellious nature in general :P ) most people in real life tend to shy away or keep me at arms length. I also switched pole studios back in November and the place I'm at now doesn't promote much of a welcoming supportive atmosphere between students like the last studio did. It was definitely a huge culture shock and disappointment. Slowly I'm working my way into the complicated female hierarchy but it gets lonely sometimes, just looking for someone to chat with :D

Post subject: Re: Pole Dance Fitness
Unread postPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:49 pm 

One member I know of does, but I haven't seen her post in quite a while, unfortunately.

-- Oscar Wilde

Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2016 9:46 pm 

I took some pole classes a few years ago, bought a pole and practiced for a while, but I haven't gotten it out in a while. I found it was really great for strength and conditioning (especially for my upper body which tends to be weak). However, I tend to feel really self-conscious when I dance (I am a terrible dancer and have been made fun of in the past), so I found the classes a bit awkward. I preferred practicing in the privacy of my own home. Husband liked it too :lol:

Maybe I'll pull out my pole and give it another whirl (pun intended). I could use a good workout or five!

Unread postPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2016 8:28 am